Easy and delicious food.

January 13, 2011 at 1:29 pm | Posted in cooking, Life, prasadam, vegan | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

Lately I have been in the mood to cook food that is simple, quick, and relatively un-processed. To do this I have revisited the Skinny Bitch in the Kitch cookbook and have cooked 2 more of the recipes with great success. Tonight dinner only took me 30 minutes (plus prep time) and was offerable without any alterations to the original recipe. Tonight’s dinner was Steamed Veggies & Tofu with Brown Rice. I think it was the tiny details that made this recipe stellar. The tahini sauce was the stand out superstar in this recipe. I have never made anything other than hummus with tahini and had no idea what the sauce would taste like. It added a much needed “oomph” to the steamed vegetables and rice. The sauce was a pleasant alternative to olive oil and Braggs. Or Braggs and hot chili paste. Or teriyaki sauce. “Steamies” and either rice or a baked potato is a staple at our house. So inexpensive and versatile. It reminds me why I became vegetarian in the first place. To eat vegetables. The picture does not do this dish justice.

The other dish that I made recently (last night) out of Skinny Bitch in the Kitch was not quite as healthy as tonight’s dinner. However it was vegan and easy. I made a variation on Sausage, Peppers, Onions, and Garlic over Soft Polenta. I omitted the garlic and onions and was short on bell peppers so I substituted with some zucchini. I also didn’t have polenta, but I did have grits. Which  was close enough for us. The meal was heavy and flavorful. I drizzled balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil on it as was suggested in the recipe. It really brought out the flavors and gave it a touch of sophistication.  I’ve only eaten grits for breakfast before this and I now understand why folks in the south eat them for dinner. We used Tofurky Italian Sausages and they were good but I think it would have been better with Field Roast sausages as they are much lighter.

Tomorrow I return to work after an absolutely lovely staycation. It has been nice to spend time with my friends and family and go to the temple and see Krishna. I plan on  returning to work with a positive attitude and completely refreshed. This was a great way to begin the new year.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.