Some MoFo Lasagna

October 7, 2009 at 6:39 pm | Posted in cooking, vegan mofo | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

mofo3Haribol Readers! Today’s post will be of the vegan lasagna I made for dinner last night. My lasagna has none of that weird fake cheese in it as I don’t like the way it melts, when it melts at all. I also dislike it because it won’t brown on top like real cheese. I am kind of weird in the fact that I don’t like to use fake foods very much. At least fake cheeses anyways. They have a time and place (nachos!), but not in my lasagna. Instead I make a faux ricotta cheese mixture of mashed tofu mixed with a bit of salt and nutritional yeast and put only sauce and olives on top of my lasagna. Very very yummy. I stuff it with whatever veggies are in season out of the garden. This time it was stuffed with eggplant and yellow squash. Yum!

DSCI1851

In the sauce layers I also like to place thinly sliced over ripe tomatoes just to make it more yummy. This is my first time using this particular sauce in the lasagna. In the past I have always used the Trader Joe’s  brand vegetarian marinara sauce but there are no Trader Joe’s in Utah 😦 so I bought this Hunts sauce as it was on sale. I was  very pleased with it. It was nice and chunky and had a lot of veggies in it. I am lazy and use no cook lasagna noodles. It saves so much time and headache. I bake it for about an hour and let it sit for about 15 minutes so it can hold its shape when cut.

DSCI1854

DSCI1855

DSCI1860

It must be nice to be a housecat.

DSCI1853

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That look GORGEOUS! It totally made my tummy rumble.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

