TVP sausage crumbles

December 22, 2009 at 5:13 pm | Posted in cooking | 2 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Haribol! Sorry I haven’t posted in a long time. I have just been really busy. I just got a membership at Golds Gym and have been spending a lot of time there. I went early this morning to yoga and got my ego checked as I found out just how out of shape I really am. I was unable to do asana’s that I have been able to do for years! Anyways…when I came home this morning I was starving and was craving cheese grits with sausage and a glass of OJ. So, here’s the recipe for the sausage I made.

TVP Sausage Crumbles

Ingredients :

2 tablespoons soy sauce or Tamari

1 teaspoon sage

1/8 teaspoon liquid smoke

½ teaspoon hing

1/2 teaspoon thyme

1/2 teaspoon fennel seeds

1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/8 teaspoon black pepper

salt to taste

1 cup boiling water

1 cup TVP

2-3 tablespoons canola oil

Directions:

In a bowl mix together the first nine ingredients.  Bring water to a boil and pour over mixture.

Pour in the textured soy protein, mix with a fork, and let stand for 10 minutes.   Fluff with a fork.  Taste to see if more seasonings need to be added.

Put oil in a frying pan over medium heat. Add mixture, and fry until well browned. (you may need to add extra oil if the pan becomes too dry).

Serves: yield: 1 1/2 cups

Preparation time: 20 minutes

This is some good faux sausage as it has all the flavor elements of sausage. To make cheese grits like I did this morning just melt some margarine into the grits and put salt, pepper, and nutritional yeast to taste and top with a bunch of sausage. To make it real southern style mix it all up together. Sorry I don’t have any pictures of my breakfast. I have been slacking on charging my camera batteries.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. what is hing

    • Hing is an herb used as a sub for garlic and onions.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

