Lessons learned from a little bird.

December 23, 2009 at 6:24 pm | Posted in Bhakti Yoga, Life | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

Yesterday I was chilling in my living room watching the snow fall when I heard a very loud thump on my dining room window. I looked up and saw some feathers and crud on the window so I put on my shoes and went outside. There was a little grey and red bird lying on the ground upside down with his little feet contracted in. He was still alive so I scooped him up in my shirt and brought him inside my warm house. (He was lying in the snow.) I made him a little nest in a colander out of a towl and petted him and prayed to Krishna to save this little soul. I know that Krishna was listening to my prayer because both my cats fell esleep and they love to chase birds. 🙂 After 15 or 20 minutes he began to recover. He must have stunned himself pretty bad as he hit that window really hard! When he began to move around I put him outside to see if he wanted to fly away, but not yet so I brought him back inside and stroked his back some more. As I was calling the vet he hopped up onto the edge of the colander and began to look around so I got off the phone and took him back outside. He didn’t imminently take off, he let me stroke his back some more and then he looked at me one last time and took off. I hope he is happy and well back with his bird friends and family. It really made me think of my own mortality. We are all spirit souls on our own individual paths back to Godhead, I hope that by hearing the name of Krishna that little bird will have an accelerated journey. This verse sums up my experience with the  bird perfectly. (Bolding of text is my own to express my own realization a little more fully.)

Bhagavad Gita 5.18  with purport by Srila Prabupada

“The humble sages, by virtue of true knowledge, see with equal vision a learned and gentle brahmana, a cow, an elephant, a dog and a dog-eater [outcaste].”

PURPORT

A Krishna conscious person does not make any distinction between species or castes. The brahmana and the outcaste may be different from the social point of view, or a dog, a cow, and an elephant may be different from the point of view of species, but these differences of body are meaningless from the viewpoint of a learned transcendentalist. This is due to their relationship to the Supreme, for the Supreme Lord, by His plenary portion as Paramatma, is present in everyone’s heart. Such an understanding of the Supreme is real knowledge. As far as the bodies are concerned in different castes or different species of life, the Lord is equally kind to everyone because He treats every living being as a friend yet maintains Himself as Paramatma regardless of the circumstances of the living entities. The Lord as Paramatma is present both in the outcaste and in the brahmana, although the body of a brahmana and that of an outcaste are not the same. The bodies are material productions of different modes of material nature, but the soul and the Supersoul within the body are of the same spiritual quality. The similarity in the quality of the soul and the Supersoul, however, does not make them equal in quantity, for the individual soul is present only in that particular body whereas the Paramatma is present in each and every body. A Krishna conscious person has full knowledge of this, and therefore he is truly learned and has equal vision. The similar characteristics of the soul and Supersoul are that they are both conscious, eternal and blissful. But the difference is that the individual soul is conscious within the limited jurisdiction of the body whereas the Supersoul is conscious of all bodies. The Supersoul is present in all bodies without distinction.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

