Brownies. Yum….

January 21, 2010 at 8:44 pm | Posted in baking, cooking | 2 Comments
Tags: , ,

I am a pretty picky eater of brownies and cookies. To please me they must be moist and tasty. I have had many disasters before in brownie baking land but these brownies were a success. I think I cut the recipe out of Natural Health Magazine, but I am unsure.

I had to fudge the recipe a bit as I was missing a few ingredients and dislike macadamia nuts. I planned on putting walnuts in instead but as I was baking to alleviate the boredom of being sick I simply flaked. Here is the original recipe in its entirety. Enjoy.

Mocha Brownies with Macadamia Nuts

1 1/2 cups granulated maple syrup (where am I supposed to buy this? I used natural sugar.)

3/4 cup applesauce

2 tsp ground flax seeds or hemp seeds

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 cup semolina flour

3/4 cup unsweetened baking cocoa

1/2 tsp salt

3 tbs instant coffee crystals

1/2 unsweetened soymilk (I used coconut milk)

1/2 cup nuts, chopped

1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

1. Heat oven to 350 F. Coat an 8 inch square baking pan lightly with oil or cooking spray.

2. In a med bowl, stir together applesauce, maple syrup granules, and 2 tbs water till smooth. Stir in flax or hempseeds and vanilla. In another bowl mix together flours, cocoa powder, salt, and baking powder. Fold dry ingredients into wet ingredients until just combined.

3. In a small cup dissolve coffee in 1/2 cup soy milk; fold into batter. Fold in nuts and chocolate chips.

4. Pour into prepared pan. Bake 40-50 minutes.

Eat and try not to burn your fingers as you devour the entire pan!!! YUM!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. those look awesome! I have posted before (and more recently in my chocolate post! http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2010/01/chocolate-recipes.html
    about my raw vegan brownies. If you like mac nuts, choc, brownies, you should give my version a whirl. They win over vegans and non,raw and non foodies alike! Yours look amazing though so you clearly dont need any help 🙂

  2. going to be doing a big yoga 101 & FAQs post soon…
    wow we just moved from San diego to Phx 5 mos ago and are in the process of trying to get back. We miss it terribly. I can totally understand how you’d miss it, too! Utah, wow…big change for you!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

