Everybody lets get sconed!

February 5, 2010 at 10:15 pm | Posted in baking, vegan | 2 Comments
Tags: , ,

After going (mostly) vegan I haven’t eaten a scone since, well I can’t even remember when so I decided to make the scones out of Vegan With A Vengeance which if you don’t already own you need to buy it. I bought my copy used off Amazon for only $9. So see, you really don’t have an excuse not to own this bitchin cookbook. Oddly enough here in Utah scones are deep fat fried so it looks like I will have to venture out into the world and try one of these unique to Utah delicacies. But anyways, here are the scones I made.

Here is the recipe that I used, based upon Isa’s recipe.

1 cup wheat flour

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour

2 tbs baking powder

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/3 cup veggie oil

1/2 cup vegan creamer (I used So Delicious Coconut Milk)

3/4 cup  vegan milk (I used So Delicious Coconut Milk) and 2 tsp apple cider vinegar

1 cup cacao chips

Preheat oven to 400 degrees, grease a cookie sheet or line pan.

In a large bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, sugar, chocolate chips, and salt. Add the wet ingredients and mix until just combined.  The dough should be chunky and not sticky. Even if there is a light dusting of flour that is okay.

Drop by 1/4 cupfuls into the baking sheet and pat the tops to round them out. Bake 12-15 minutes and cool.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I LOVE scones, and these look fantastic! I also love So Delicious coconut milk beverages and creamer. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. Can’t wait to try it!

  2. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by So_Delicious: Yummy, yummy! Coconut Chocolate Chip Scones! http://bit.ly/9pKvxM #vegan #dairyfree…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

