Cheezy goodness!

February 17, 2010 at 6:40 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments
Tags: , ,

No, I have not gone back to eating cheese. My cheezy goodness shout of happiness to the heavens above is that I made my first vegan cheeze sauce last night. I am so happy. I must have dreamt about that stuff all night after eating it in all its fake cheese glory. Finally, something that is able to satisfy my cheese cravings. I think I could eat that sauce on every meal, three meals a day. Last night, I made cheezy veggie stuffed baked potatoes. These pictures do not do that sauce justice.

Somewhere under all that cheeze mess and veggies is a baked potato.

Cheeze sauce recipe (Spicy version)

2 tsp. canola oil
1/8 tsp. crushed red pepper (omit if you dont want this to be spicy)
2 tsp hing
1 1/2 tablespoons unbleached flour
1 1/3 cups hot vegetable broth
1/3 cup almond milk
1/2 cup nutritional yeast (nootch)
1 teaspoon Bragg Liquid Aminos
1 teaspoon dried chives

Heat oil, crushed pepper and hing in a saucepan, over medium heat for 2 minutes. Add flour and cook while stirring until beginning to brown, about 2 minutes. Stir in the broth add when thickening add the almond milk, nootch, Bragg Aminos, and chives. Reduce heat and simmer, stirring frequently. (I ended up adding in a lot more flour to thicken it up. If you need to do that just add in more nootch to compensate)

I don’t really have many posts from last week as I spent most of the week doing a detox fast. But, I did make some pretty sandwiches on homemade bread and a yummy salad.

Not much else has gone on in my kitchen lately. I have been making lots of delish smoothies, but every other vegan blog on the planet has pictures of those so who needs to see pictures of mine? I have plans this week of making seitan and my first kneaded bread so I will keep you updated. Do you make cheeze sauces? Do they satisfy you? Post and share here and let us know. Peace!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Cheeze sauce is the best isn’t it? I will have to try your recipe – but what on earth is hing??

  2. Cheeze sauce is the best. I am hooked!!!! 🙂 Hing is an Indian Spice also known as Asafoetida. It is an aromatic and pungent spice used in place of garlic and or onions. http://www.amazon.com/LG-Hing-Asafoetida-100g-3-5oz/dp/B000JMAXOW

    • Wow, I never even heard of that. Will have to hunt it down in an Asian grocer or something.

      • If you go to an Indian Grocery Store they should have it. LG is the my fave to use, the stuff in the yellow containers is mixed with Turmeric and the taste isn’t as strong but it’s still good.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

