A Mexican Odyssey.

May 10, 2010 at 8:34 pm | Posted in cooking, vegetarian | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

I love eating and cooking Mexican Food. Thankfully I lived in Tijuana for a few years back in the “day” and picked up some technique and learned a lot about what is and is not Mexican cooking. For instance, yellow cheese IS NOT used in Mexican cooking. All authentic Mexican cheeses are undyed and left to their natural color. For some reason here in Orem Utah there are a lot of very good Mexican grocery stores and I don’t even have to drive to the bad part of town to find tortillarilla fresh tortillas. This pleases me more than you can imagine. So, without further ado here are my latest health Mex creations. 🙂

Zucchini Corn Tacos:

Queso Casero and my homemade salsa.

Last week I bought some plantains and cooked up some delish Black Bean and Plantain tacos.

Fresh tortillas from down the street.

I have been playing with so many fun new recipes lately. Last week I made Sicilian Style Roasted Veggies with Riccotta Cheese Stuffed Tomatoes. Those roasted veggies were to die for. I have never eating anything like them before and I am sure they will be in the regular meal rotation in the future. There is no real recipe for the stuffed tomatoes. Just take a medium size container of ricotta cheese, mix in some thyme, baby spinach leafs, salt and pepper. Mix well and spoon it onto the halved tomatoes. Bake till bubbly and brown on top (ours were undercooked) at 450.

Last night my fiance and I went to the new Wynco grocery store that opened down the street. I was surprised and impressed by their organic and natural foods selection. They have a great selection of vegetarian meats and I can buy organic sugar in the bulk section super cheap. I had heard at work how great their muffins were so I had to hit the bakery. Alas, as expected they were contaminated with eggs. 😦 But there was light at the end of the tunnel.  The Wynco bakery cooks up fresh chunky granola every day so I bought a pound. Well this is some great granola. I topped it with some unsweetened  Almond Breeze almond milk and was in heaven. Yummmmmm.

Our wedding is only 26 days away and we are going on honeymoon to Vegas for a week so my blog postings might have to slow down a bit as I make and remake the same meals in an effort to clean out our fridge.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.