Grain musings on a hot ekadasi day.

July 21, 2010 at 10:14 pm | Posted in cooking, vegan, vegetarian | Leave a comment

I have been out of the blog loop for a long time now. I am not even sure where to begin. While on our honeymoon in Vegas I picked up a copy of Veganomicon dirt cheap from Urban Outfitters of all places. This book is a wealth of inexpensive recipes that don’t have a bunch of crazy expensive hard to find ingredients. So far though, the only thing that I have made out of it is the Smoky Tempeh Cutlets. And boy are they good! I have made them at least twice since the middle of June. I would make them tonight with ricotta and basil stuffed tomatoes were it not ekadasi. As today is Ekadasi I fasted until noon, abstained from caffine (really really hard!) and made Spicy Cauliflower with Braised Tomato over quinoa. Yum. I am not sure what we are making for dinner tonight. I am guessing something featuring potatoes and or broccoli. 🙂

Here are some pictures of the smoky tempeh served with a side of Indian Style mashed potatoes.

Boil the tempeh before marinating to remove bitterness and better absorb the marinade

Marinated overnight.

Indian Style Mashed Potatoes rule!

The perfect pairing of flavors and textures.

I had a really bad craving for a cheesy lasagna, but didn’t want all the stomach aches and pains from eating an all cheese lasagna. I found the perfect solution. I made a spinach “ricotta cheese” filling out of rosemary, tofu, nootch, and spinach from the garden, but put real cheese on top. I must be a f’n genius it tasted so good!

Next up is something really intense, easy to make and delish! At Red Robin all their veggie burgers can be made vegetarian and I really came to be attached to the Blue Cheese Burger. I had a bad craving for one a few weeks back so I recreated them using Boca Burgers (much better) but I think they would also really taste great with Black Bean Chipotle Burgers too.

Veganaise, BBQ Sauce, Onion Rings, Pepper Jack, & Blue Cheese.

A few days ago I had a craving for a salad and I found a recipe in my binder for a fettuccine salad with a spicy peanut butter dressing, but I had no cucumber and bell peppers on hand. But we did have a bunch of fresh veggies out of the garden that would be great ever so lightly steamed. So, I steamed them and ran them under some cold water to cool them off. I did the same with the noodles (I used Thai rice fettuccine.) and boy was it awesome! So light and vegan we both had to have seconds!

I am still adjusting to a new (improved) work schedule so I am able to cook again. I have been working late nights through training and I have barely been able to cook at all.  However, that has all changed this week and it looks like it’s going to stay that way. 🙂 I am going to look at your blogs now! Chao!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

