The morning after ekadasi.

August 7, 2010 at 4:43 pm | Posted in baking, cooking, ekadasi, vegan, vegetarian | 2 Comments

My usual thought when I wake up the morning after ekadasi is GRAINS! And, am I breaking my fast off grains and beans at the correct time? This morning, yes I am. So you may ask- how can you eat gourmet and yummy and still observe ekadasi? Like this:

Quick-braised Broccoli with Sun-dried Tomatoes and Goat Cheese

This meal is strait out of Vegetarian Times Magazine. I made it pretty much to recipe, but I doubled the pine nuts and sun dried tomatoes. I served it over quinoa to keep it ekadasi, but man I must say this was a perfect meal.

Last ekadasi we ate steamed veggies over baked red potatoes. I drowned mine in nootch and olive oil.

Our standard ekadasi anytime meal.

And some ekadasi humor:

I just havent had the time to maintain this blog the way I used to when I worked part time, but I still take pictures of everything I cook.

Earlier this week I made Braised Zucchini Wheels with Sesame Mint Pesto. I have never made a pesto with bread crumbs in it before nor have I ever stuffed a zucchini. This is one of those rare meals that I actually followed the recipe. Well. I did triple the olive oil.

And some Ekadasi humor:

I am addicted to Isa’s Smokey Grilled Tempeh recipe. I served it up last week with Ricotta Cheese and Basil Stuffed Tomatoes.

That night I made some Coconut Chocolate Rounds for dessert from Averie’s Blog- Love Veggies and Yoga.  The first time I made them I must have added too much agave nectar as they came out all gooey. So, the next time I made them I used organic cane sugar and doubled it, with success.

Speaking of chocolate, I also made an amazing batch of gooey vegan dark chocolate brownies!

Vegan gooey yumminess.

We seem to eat a lot of potatoes, broccoli, and tomatoes in our house.  This is one of my fave recipes that includes those ingredients.

Veggie Stuffed Potatoes With Cajun Cheeze Sauce.

Pop the potatoes into the oven and whip up the veggie filling and Cajun sauce while the potatoes bake.
6 Servings

6 Russet potatoes
1 1/2 tsp. olive oil
1 tsp hing
1 rib celery, chopped
1/3 cup chopped yellow bell pepper
6 oz. broccoli
2 medium tomatoes, chopped
2 Tablespoons chopped black olives
1 Tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 Tablespoon tamari
3 Tablespoons nutritional yeast
¼ cup chopped fresh basil
dash hot pepper sauce, to taste

Sauce

2 tsp. canola oil
1/8 tsp. crushed red pepper
2 tsp hing
1 1/2 tablespoons unbleached flour
1 1/3 cups hot vegetable broth
1/3 cup almond milk
1/2 cup nutritional yeast
1 teaspoon Bragg Liquid Aminos
1 teaspoon dried chives

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425°. Bake potatoes on middle rack 1 hour or until fork-tender.
Filling: Heat oil in a 10” frying pan, 1 minute. Add hing, bell pepper, and celery, 3 minutes. Add tomatoes and olives. Cook mixture 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Add remaining ingredients lower heat to simmer and cover until ready to assemble.

Cajun Sauce: Heat oil, crushed pepper and hing in a saucepan, over medium heat for 2 minutes. Add flour and cook while stirring until beginning to brown, about 2 minutes. Stir in the broth add when thickening add the almond milk, yeast, Bragg Aminos, and chives. Reduce heat and simmer, stirring frequently.

Assembly: Cut an “X” into each potato when cool enough to handle, and press sides gently to open. Scoop out 1 tablespoon of pulp from each potato and add to stuffing mixture. Spoon stuffing into and over potatoes. Serve immediately.

Louisiana Stuffed Potatoes With Cajun ‘Cream’ Sauce
Nutrition analysis per serving: One stuffed potato with sauce
Protein 11g, Carbohydrate 64g, Fiber 8g, Fat 3g,
Cholesterol 0mg, Calcium 52mg, Sodium 390mg
Calories 320 from protein: 13%, from carbohydrate: 77%, from fat: 9%

This meal will dirty up every pot and pan in your house, but it’s totally worth it. I insist that you make this at least once, and tell me what you think. 🙂

I will keep cooking and photographing what I make and hopefully I will find the time to post soon! Till then, haribol!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Haribol!

    That was such an entertaining Ekadasi videos, thanks for sharing a laugh!

    What is your brownie recipe? Those look like they must have a perfect texture/consistency…. 😀

  2. Your welcome, glad you enjoyed the video. It was quite a hoot! Here is the link to the brownie recipe: https://catcows.wordpress.com/2010/01/21/brownies-yum/


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

