Chorizo Stuffed Bell Peppers and other fairytales.

August 19, 2010 at 9:34 pm | Posted in cooking, vegan, vegetarian | Leave a comment

A few nights ago I made a fave comfort food of mine that it’s been too hot to cook. But fall has arrived in Utah Valley and I can safely turn my oven on again. I quit buying soyrizo from the health food store when I bought Isa’s Vegan With A Vengeance last year and my husband says it tastes just like the stuff from the store. But you get twice as much for half the price when you make it yourself. I used Follow Your Hearts Vegan Jack Cheeze and diced up 3 tomatoes and mixed it all together and stuffed 2 halved green bell peppers, covered with foil and baked at 440 for 45 minutes. My oven thermometer is way off so I actually dont know the real temp.

Lately I have been experimenting with raw tomato sauces for summer pasta dishes. The basic premise is that you dice up tomatoes and place them in a bowl with olive oil, salt and spices, and cover and let sit for a couple hours at room temperature. It “cooks” the way a raw cevice cooks.   I like to add some, okay a lot, of garden fresh basil too. And some fancy goats cheese never hurt either. But that needs to go ofter the pasta is served, never put cheese in the sauce while it’s “cooking”.

Raw sauce "cooking".

With Feta cheese added right before serving.

Last night I needed something easy to make and a way to use some of the kohlrabi from our garden so I made a generic veggie stir fry with garden fresh broccoli and kohlrabi from our garden and some tofu on top of some Vietnamese noodles. I mixed in some vegetarian Hosin Sauce and voila we had dinner!

All Vietnamise noodles are my fave, Japanese buckwheat Soba are my second fave.

Well, That’s All Folks!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

