Musings

August 22, 2010 at 12:50 am | Posted in Bhakti Yoga, Life, vegetarian | Leave a comment
Tags:

After working part time for the last two years returning to work full time is weird. I like being able to pay my bills but the lesson I have learned is that free time is priceless. It allows me to stay in a better consciousness and focus on my spiritual life more and be a calmer, nicer, broker person. I am finally beginning to adjust back to the old way, but with a new improved perspective. The last two years were very austere and I learned a lot. I am thankful to be one of Americas employed masses and not just another statistic. I am now better prepared to work in the material world as I try to work at my mundane job in the spirit of bhakti and offer the results to Krishna. This non-attachment to the results of my work while trying to endeavor nicely and do a good job really reduces the burden of stress that I would normally feel. It enables me to be truly happy when my co-workers do good and not be envious. Which I think is amazing as I work in a competitive sales environment.  This is an environment that could easily bring out greed, jealousy, and animosity. True bhakti means not attached to the results of our work and also not being attached to renunciation too. Bhakti recognizes that we can’t renounce whats not ours as everything is Krishnas.

“A karmi works for his own sense gratification, and a bhakta works for Krishna’s sense gratification. That is the difference between a nondevotee and a devotee.” – Srila Prabhupada

“You have a right to perform your prescribed duty, but you are not entitled to the fruits of action. Never consider yourself the cause of the results of your activities, and never be attached to not doing your duty.” – Bhagavad Gita 2.47

And now for some nice quotes on Vegetarianism:

“A vegetarian is not a person who lives on vegetables, any more than a Catholic is a person who lives on cats. “

“I was a cannibal for twenty-five years. For the rest I have been a vegetarian.”

“A man of my spiritual intensity does not eat corpses.”

All three- George Bernard Shaw

Mayapur Dham

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

