My fave cookbooks

August 27, 2010 at 2:33 am | Posted in books, cooking, Life, vegan, vegetarian | Leave a comment

If I was stranded on a desert island with a kick a$$ kitchen these are the cookbooks I would want to have.

1. Vegan With A Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz.

This is my most used cookbook. It has all the essentials and there are only a few meals that dont come out like I think they should. All the ingredients are easy to obtain and pretty inexpensive. A good book for the do it yourselfer who dosent like to use fake cheese or buy fake bacon.

2. Veganomicon, also by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

Great for all the reasons I posted above, but also lots of good cheap staples such as Smokey Grilled Seitan. I am obsessed with that stuff, I have to cook it on a regular basis.

3. The Ultimate  UnCheese Cookbook by Jo Stepaniak

I havent actually used this cookbook yet as it requires some fancy ingredients that I just dont have like agar agar. You know, I dont even know what that is. Yet reading over this cookbook makes me happy and gives me a since that I might just be able to kick the dairy habit. Oh yeah, I forgot to add that it just came in the mail yesterday. 🙂

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

