Leftover un-meatloaf and more health Mex!

October 15, 2010 at 8:18 pm | Posted in cooking, vegan, vegan mofo | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

My vegan journey has been a tasty one, but only on my third attempt. Attempt one at being vegan was (very) short  lived and unsuccessful because I had no idea how to eat vegan and I wasn’t even that good at being vegetarian back then. Attempt number two was because I had ended up in the hospital and veganism seemed the only way to not end back up in there. That attempt was unsuccessful because I wasn’t 100% sure I wanted to be vegan. I rebelled against the fact that I had to do it for my health. I guess I’m just a rebel, lol. This third attempt is working because I made the choice myself. I want to do it because it’s better for me and the animals.

That meatloaf I posted a little while ago reincarnated well as a meatloaf sandwich. Something that I never ate as a meat-eater growing up.  Well, I was impressed at this filling lunch.

I used Veganasise and Follow Your Heart cheddar. The cherry tomatoes are out of our garden.

I also made more temping tempeh tacos using Whole Foods marinade recipe. (I double it).  I served the tacos with a side of organic canned black beans (Back to canned beans. Working full time sucks sometimes.), homemade pico de gallo, and homemade feta cheese.

Since I had a bunch of leftover salsa and corn tortillas I made Chilaquiles. I used my homemade cooked salsa and more of the vegan Feta.

More classic vegan cooking at our house. I think we must eat baked taters stuffed with steamed vegetables and cheeze sauce at least once every other week. I am really getting into steaming red bell peppers.

I am very exited for fall cooking and Vegan MoFo in November. I will also be doing more devotional posts as Kartika starts next Friday.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

