Cheezy scrambled “eggs”

October 19, 2010 at 9:00 am | Posted in cooking, vegan | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

When I was in junior high my dad went through a faze of making me cheesey scrambled eggs every chance he got and me eating them every chance I got. They were delicious. They were greasy and slimy and cheddar cheezy. I needed a quick and easy breakfast for two yesterday morning and I happened to have some Daiya Cheddar in the house so I decided to re-create my breakfast of childhood past.

I am amazed at how un-vegan this looks.

I like to eat pumpkin anything and everything and I was craving Mexican food and wanted something easy. Sooooo, I made a faux Pumpkin Enchiladas Casserole. No recipe for me. I just baked a sweet pumpkin for an hour in the stove for the pumpkin layer. The first layer was corn tortillas. First I softened them on the stove over a hot flame then I dipped them in Enchilada sauce then I fried them in grease on each side then I placed them in the bottom of the pan. Repeat this process between each layer. Then I filled the layer with black beans sauteed with jalapeno chili’s and some hing and salt and a hand full of white Daiya. A layer of tortillas. Then a layer of scooped out fresh baked pumpkin. I used one whole medium size pumpkin. Then another layer of tortillas and Enchilada sauce. Then some more Daiya. Cover and bake for 30 minutes at 350.

Garnished with raw chopped tomato, homemade cooked salsa, and Toffuti Sour Cream.

Well, that’s all folks.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. OMG! Those “eggs” look amazing!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

