Mofo Tofu

November 29, 2010 at 4:54 am | Posted in cooking, Life, utah, vegan, vegan mofo | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Mofo Tofu almost sounds like something I would expect to find in the perfect hipped out vegan Asian fusion restaurant I wish existed. Mofo Tofu is Isa’s recipe for Italian Marinaded Tofu out of V’con pressed in a Tofu Express I served the tofu with boiled Turnip Greens.

Overall I really liked the tofu marinade recipe but I felt overall like the tofu needed a sauce or something to go with it. But I couldn’t for the life of me figure out what type of sauce would be good on it so I just sprinkled on some nootch and drizzled jalapeno infused olive oil on it as I’m out of Tabasco. The Turnip greens were inspired by the Spinach and tomatoes recipe out of the same cookbook and came out amazing, but I will use less water/broth next time.

I was very impressed with the Tofu Xpress: http://www.tofuxpress.com/ I pressed my tofu and went to bed. When I woke up it was less than half the size it was the night before. I cubed it and placed it back in the Xpress container with the marinading lid and went to work. Nine hours later I cooked the tofu. It was pressed consistently and evenly and seems to be of sturdy construction. It is very small, just a tad bit larger than a pound block of tofu so I can see why some people own more than one.

Rating: ***** out of five stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

