They reminded me of pork chops…

December 5, 2010 at 2:07 am | Posted in cats, cooking, Life, utah, vegan, vegetarian | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

I made seitan cutlets for the first time a few nights ago.  They were pretty good, but I made them a little chewy, and when I took them out of the oven I remarked to my husband that well, they look a little bit like pork chops. They were small and kinda round, and had a brownish tint to them. Well, I fried them in a little oil and served them up with some Spicy Boiled Collards and realized that they had a similar texture to the pork chops I remember eating as a kid- chewy. CHEWY. I was sad. Next time I’ll add a bit more water to the initial gluten mixture in the hopes that they are not chewy. I followed the recipe to the letter, and have I ever mentioned that I am not always good at taking instruction? I’ll keep you updated on the seitan cutlets when attempt two happens. Still, not bad for a first try.

See what I mean?

Does anyone here use Mimic Cream? I read about it on one of my fave blogs, Veganize it… Don’t Criticize it! And I can’t wait to try it. Apparently Good Earth in Provo sells it.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thank you so much 🙂 MimiCreme is an amazing, versatile product.

    Glad I found your blog! Seitan cutlets look good to me haha.

  2. I went to buy some Mimic Cream today and was told that they quit carrying it as it didn’t sell well. 😦 I am going to use separated coconut cream instead.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

