Linguine in Lemon Cream Sauce

December 14, 2010 at 12:59 am | Posted in cooking, Life, utah, vegan | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

I am trying to be more frugal and make wiser grocery store trips. I am upset that food gets wasted and decided to write a meal list for two weeks and try to target 7 dishes. The meal list is as follows: Sweet Potato Shepard’s Pie , Cauliflower Mash, Mexican Food, Masala Cornmeal Brussels Sprouts , Linguine in Lemon Cream Sauce, Mustard Sauce, and Chickpea Tagine.    Sone of these I have made a million times with consistent success last winter so they were easy choices: Sweet Potato Shepard’s Pie, Mexican Food, and the Chickpea Tagine. The rest of these just looked good and had economical ingredients.

So far I have made the Linguine in Lemon Cream Sauce. It was pretty good, but my husband liked it more than I did. I also think it would have tasted better if I had followed it as written, with real cream cheese. I used Tofutti cream cheese which I don’t think tastes very much like cream cheese but I use anyways. The sauce just tasted a little off to me, but in all it was a satisfying meal in 30 minutes.

I recently had a lucky find at the grocery store, some biscuit cutters with fluted edges. They were inexpensive and I was so exited! I decided to break them in last week and made biscuits and gravy with tvp sausage. This was my first time using all purpose wheat flour instead of pastry flour on the biscuits. They were good and tasty, but I prefer a flakier biscuit so back to pastry flour. I found the most amazing white gravy recipe on Chez Bettay The Vegan Gourmet. I prefer to make my own soy crumbles out of tvp, but in a pinch breaking up patties would work pretty nice too.

Stuff we have tried lately.

The Sweet and Sour stuff was good. It tasted a lot like all the other vegan “meat” we get from the Asian grocery store. We were not in the mood to eat any grains the night we ate this so we put it on top steamed broccoli and zucchini. These fake meats are nice to have around the house for work nights and lunches on days off. I just microwave them for 2 minutes.

The product I am reviewing this week is Smart Deli Turkey Slices. Yum! I eat these alot and they taste great and are inexpensive. They are also pretty easy to find as I see this brand whenever I go to a major grocery store like Smiths or Wynco.

**** 4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

