Winter eats!

February 3, 2011 at 12:00 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

This is the time of year where I just want to cook all the time to keep the house warm! When I woke up this morning it was only 7 degrees, in the blink of an eye (literally) it dropped one degree to 6. This is not the type of cold that I am accustomed to. This is no 45 degree cold. This is the type of cold that cuts right though your clothes. Layer layer layer. Hence the Sweet Potato Shepherds Pie out of Vegetarian Times. This is one of my tried and true winter recipes. The filling is turnips and canielli beans. Yum! Lots of little steps, but well worth the effort. Instead of Parmesan on the top, I used nutritional yeast.

Have I mentioned yet how much I enjoy eating Collard greens? They have become my favorite number one green. Their only setback is their cooking time which is quite lengthy. They are so versatile. Will  easily go well with any leftover marinade that I cook them in or I just cook them in plain water. In this picture I believe they were served with the Smoky Tempeh out of VWAV.

Speaking of greens, I recently made the Sauteed Spinach and Tomatoes from Vegan With a Vengeance and it was really good. I don’t really like eating cooked spinach but I wanted to give it a try for two reasons. #1- All Isa’s recipes are foolproof and #2- I am trying to eat more greens.  The spinach is served with Hot Sauce Glazed Tempeh from the same cookbook.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

